Frederick Law Olmsted is recognized as the first founder of American landscape architecture and the country's foremost parkmaker. Moving to a community just outside of Boston, Olmsted established the world's first full-scale landscape architecture office at his home, which he called "Fairsted." For nearly 100 years, Olmsted, his sons, and their associates, influenced landscapes across the country, perpetuating Olmsted's design ideals and philosophies.
"The house is partially restored with exibitions pertaining to Olmstead and his designs. The office and studio remain untouched and look like the last draftsman hung up his apron and walked out the door last night"
Home to President James Madison, Father of the Constitution and Architect of the Bill of Rights, and Dolley Madison, America’s first "First Lady." The Montpelier estate features the mansion, garden, historic buildings, exhibits, archaeological sites, and forests trails.
"The house is a restoration in progress, in a bucolic stetting. Be sure to see former owner Marion duPont Scott's Art Deco-inspired Red Room featuring photographs of her champion horses on the walls and a working weather vane in the ceiling, reconstructed in the visitor's center"
Filoli was built in 1915 for Mr. and Mrs. William Bowers Bourn, prominent San Franciscans whose chief source of wealth was the Empire Mine, a hard-rock gold mine in Grass Valley, California. Mr. Bourn was also owner and president of the Spring Valley Water Company whose property comprised Crystal Springs Lake and the surrounding lands, areas that are now part of the San Francisco Water Department. He selected the southern end of Crystal Springs Lake as the site for his estate. The estate is situated in a verdant valley. The gardens are as impressive as the house, strolling though them is a tranquil way to spend an afternoon.
The house has been featured in film and TV, including iconic fly-over shot at the beginning of Dallas. If you are lucky you will hear live piano music coming from the ballroom as you tour the house.
With its gracious house, magnificent gardens, and panoramic views, Naumkeag is a quintessential country estate of the Gilded Age.
This architectural masterpiece is, at its heart, a family home. Joseph Choate, a leading 19th-century attorney, hired the architectural firm of McKim, Mead, & White to design the 44-room “cottage,” Naumkeag, which would serve as a summer retreat for three generations of Choates.
With its views of Monument Mountain, its stunning collection of gardens created by Joseph Choates's daughter, Miss Mabel Choate, and Fletcher Steele over 30 years, its original artwork, and its shingle-style house, Naumkeag creates an unforgettable experience for visitors.
The Mandeville House is the oldest extant house in Garrison dating to 1735.
During the Revolutionary War, General Israel Putnam, after whom the county is named, was headquartered there for a while. A later occupant, architect Richard Upjohn, lived there for the last 25 years of his life. He expanded the house and redid its exterior in the Gothic Revival style that characterized much of his own work; most of these were removed in the 1920s by a later owner in order to restore the house to something close to its original appearance.
One of the lesser known jewels of the Hudson Valley, access is available by appointment during the Summer.